A8 / S8 (D4 Platform) Discussion Discussion Forum for the D4 Audi A8 Produced from 2010-2017 Audi S8 produced from 2012-2017
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking to buy an A8L - advice appreciated

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2018, 12:03 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to buy an A8L - advice appreciated

All,

I've never owned a luxury car before and am looking at purchasing a 2015 A8L 4.0. I see the prices range from 35k to 50k depending on features and mileage. I'm primarily a solo driver (work and back) and drive 30 minutes each way, mostly back roads and some minor highway miles. I'm looking for something quiet where I can take conference calls as I drive and something comfortable. I also routinely am the car pool driver for lunch / events so I'm looking for something that will comfortably fit 4 people.

I have a few questions:
1.) What features would you consider "must have" in the A8L?

2.) How's the maintenance on these cars? What's the typical 15k maintenance cost? Does Audi sell an extended warranty that I can purchase directly? My workplace is literally 3 minutes from an Audi dealership.

3.) Any things I should be cautious of when purchasing a new car? Any common problems?

4.) How is the Nav unit? I have a Note 8 and love using GPS on my phone because of traffic and Waze. Does the A8 have traffic in the nav unit or am I just going to ignore the nav unit and stick with my phone?

5.) How is the trunk? I've heard two stories, the trunk is big and the trunk is small for a big car.

6.) What is your greatest frustration with the A8L?
Old 02-08-2018, 12:36 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I will take a stab at a few...

Must have for me: 4-way climate, luxury package (diamond stitching, double-pane glass), pano roof.
Maintenance: Go for a CPO and/or a vehicle with Audicare, which follows the car even if sold.