Heater core replacement (tips)??

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2003, 09:32 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heater core replacement (tips)??

I am going to be replacing the heater core on my 92. I am not looking foreward to this job, it looks like a pain in the ***. Anyone have any tips to save time, headache?

Thanks.
Old 10-21-2003, 09:34 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 171 Likes on 150 Posts

Two Tylenol, and lots of time and patience. Good luck!
Old 10-22-2003, 12:34 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default you are a glutton for punishment (long post)

But if you must do it yourself, the tylenol will help, and maybe a massage. It is do-able, but it is not for the meek.

(note: the following is based on my experience doing this, use your own judgement when doing it yourself)

I just did it on my '98 A4, and plan to do it on my '96 A6 wagon if it goes. I am not a professional mechanic, and I had never done it before. It took me 10 hours (not all at once) to get at the core. 10 seconds to replace the core. Then about 5 hours to put the car back together again. It's not really difficult, just tedius, and much is done on your back with your feet up in the air.

I used a non-audi guidebook. Some of the directions are 'remove the so-and-so' and don't say how, or 'remove the red connector' and there is no red connector. So if you're not ready for that, you may want to re-consider the project.

When you get to the core, the entire front of the cabin will be dissasembled to the firewall, so don't let your wife/S.O. see it or they will freak out. The corallary is, if you want to freak out your wife/S.O., then invite them to take a look