Audi A5 / S5 / RS5 Coupe & Cabrio (B9) Discussion forum for the B9 Audi A5, S5 and RS5 Coupe and Cabriolet 2018 model year and up

Cyclist ran into my car this morning! Is this a cheap fix or a pricy one?

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2019, 01:13 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Cyclist ran into my car this morning! Is this a cheap fix or a pricy one?

I am looking for recommendations or advice on what to do? Is this something a PDR (paintless dent removal) can take care of or is it a body shop job?

What can I expect in terms of cost repairs?

Old 06-06-2019, 01:49 PM
Club AutoUnion

Received 2,163 Likes on 1,384 Posts

I Am Not A Bodywork Expert — but I don’t think a dent remover will be able to get your car looking “good as new” as, from your pictures, you appear to have some creases in the sheet metal and they may be too severe to just “pop out.”

Thankfully, we have some members in your area with body shop experience. Good Luck!

— John
Old 06-06-2019, 01:49 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 381 Likes on 343 Posts

WoW! That's gonna keep the PDR guy entertained for a while!!

Did the cyclist offer to pay or does the cyclist say it's your fault? Or, did the cyclist flee?
Old 06-06-2019, 02:46 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 87 Likes on 66 Posts
Default PDR could work

Based upon my experience with PDR, if the dent is in the smooth part of the panel only (doesn't cross over the crease), PDR may work. I had 451 hail strike dents on the top and sides of my last vehicle that were apparently removed with magic. I tried hard, under bright lights, to see any remaining evidence of the dents and couldn't. Of course yours are bigger and that may make a difference. I hope however they are fixed works well.

Of course I didn't really answer you question about cost, because I don't know how much it was on my car. It was all handled directly between the body shop and the insurance company.

Last edited by AgMaple; 06-06-2019 at 02:49 PM.