Audi Euro Delivery Program Discussion Discussion forum for Audi's Euro Delivery Program - questions & experiences

Clueless about ED and buying an Audi in general

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2013, 06:26 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clueless about ED and buying an Audi in general

Hello all - I'm a newbie here, and a female who probably fits all the negative and clueless stereotypes about car-buying. I arrived at my Audi dealer high on my stiletto heels and low on car buying knowledge. Needless to say, my bargaining did not go as planned.

Since then I'm looking online and at ED and trying to find the cheapest option, but I don't know where to start. I haven't yet looked into ED pricing.

Q's: 1. I'm a US diplomat so I'd like to take advantage of any diplomat programs out there for Audi - the US govt will ship a car for me free from the US to my overseas posting. Does anyone have experience buying as a diplomat, here in the US or in Europe?

2. An online company offered me a price for a 2014 at '13 prices, approx $42k for an A4 (Prem Plus AWD Auto, Nav, B&O sound) although it would be special order and shipped to the US, and take approx 4 months from order date. I'm not sure what the benefit is of getting ED versus getting a custom ordered one delivered to a US dealer. If the ED with the 5% discount equals the same price as having one sent to the US, is it just the whole trip/experience of Germany, rather than the cost savings, which makes ED desirable?

3. How do I calculate the 5% discount that ED would be approx? - do I take it off the price shown when building a car via the Audi website?

4. What warranty do you generally get with ED? A second online company who quoted me a higher price also factored in the following option:
OPR2 Owner's Protection Plan: $2,700.00
Major Component Coverage including Air Conditioning and High Tech