Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help/Advice needed on adding another amp

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2003, 01:45 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help/Advice needed on adding another amp

Basically, I want to add another amp to my stereo. I think I'll be able to do this myself instead of going to a shop. All the connections seem very easy, but I have some questions about powering the amp.

I already have a fuse next to my battery for my current amp. Can I just up rate the current fuse and hook up my new amp to the same one? or should i get another fuse for this amp?

If I use the same fuse, how should I split the wires to both my amps? Any other advice for a total noob?
Thanks
Old 09-11-2003, 01:54 PM

Default assuming your fuse hold is not one of those super tiny in-line fuse holders (i'm talking like 20 amp

amps or less), you should be able to upgrade the glass fuse no problem. as far as adding another amp, you have to add a distribution block and run separate power and ground and remote turn on to the new amp (assuming your current power wire is thick enough to support a second amp- at least 4 AWG). Assuming your first amp has already been wired up correctly, adding a second amp shouldn't be too hard.

also, hopefully you know how to run new speaker wire to wherever you're going, and you also know how to get another set of RCA's back and forth from the head unit.
Old 09-11-2003, 02:41 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Can I get any distribution blocks? Or are some brands to be avoided..also,

correct me if I'm wrong, but, I connect the remote turn on to the distribution block?

I think my power wire is thick enough, but i'll for def double check that. Are there any places that sell everything I need to install an amp? Do you think best buy or fry's sell them, if so, are they bad quality?