Auto Detailing Discussion Discussion forum for the in's and out's of properly detailing your ride

Detailing Noob here guys, i STFA and FAQ and am just looking for a "Beginners" detailing agenda

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2006, 06:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Detailing Noob here guys, i STFA and FAQ and am just looking for a "Beginners" detailing agenda

Tomorrow will be the first time i get the car running in a month....

So after it is running i intend to take good care of her, however, i dont have the money right now to be spending on lots of products

so what do you think the absolute basic things i should buy?

As you can see, i have a black car so many swirl marks are easily visible

I have:
-Rubbing compound
-sheep(fur)pad
-7 or 8" buffer (one speed)
-Turtle cleaner wax
-Some towels and microfibers as well
-Claybar and shine (but i believe the claybar has been dropped so its useless) can i still use the showcar shine it comes w/ ?

The car has been sitting so it probably has alotta **** on it but i am askin you guys to suggest just the basics/ medium strength cleaners etc. and i dont wanna spend more than bucks, prbably cause thats all i have right now, haha

Also , do you reccomend against taking off the wax w/ the machine?

Thank youuuuuuu !
Old 12-02-2006, 06:46 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default For some good background reading...

...check out the "how to make your car shine" link in my signature. I reference some very good sites for discussion of detailing.

Good luck.
Old 12-02-2006, 07:26 PM

TY
Old 12-03-2006, 07:22 AM
RKA
AudiWorld Uber User

Default You can start by throwing away the stuff you have...

Rubbing compound...good bye!
inexpensive polisher with lambwool...in the trash
Turtle wax...never!
Towels and microfiber - imho, if it's not good microfiber, it shouldn't touch your paint. Clean soft cotton towels are fine...low quality towels go in the trash.
Dropped clayber - no good.