What Engine - What Car?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2007, 03:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What Engine - What Car?

Hi all, I'm a noob to this forum and was wondering if I can call on your experience for advice. I would like to buy a used Audi A4 or A6 but I am not sure about the different engines and the inherent or common problems(if any). I like the sound of the 2.7t for the A6 or the 3.0 for the A4- are these o.k or is the 1.8T better for the A4 - I would like a good smooth engine and not one I have to strangle!

Your thoughts would be great
(looking for 2003 / 2004 ish)

An eager Audi owner wanabee
Old 12-03-2007, 03:15 PM
AudiWorld Super User

I think the major thing you need to decide on from A4 to A6 is vehicle size... What suits your needs
Old 12-03-2007, 03:19 PM
AudiWorld Uber User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Depends if you want to mod the engine for more power or if you want stock. Do you prefer having a...

a turbo (or two) or naturally aspirated engines? Can you live with a 4 cyl engine or do you need the smoothness of a V6 or V8? How important is fuel economy to you? Do you want a sporty sedan (A4) or a boat on wheels (A6)?
Old 12-03-2007, 03:55 PM

Default Re: What Engine - What Car?

I am leaning towards the A4 3.0 V6 because this is probably a smooth and strong engine. But there are a lot of 1.8T's out there for sale and I am not sure if it is as refined. And no I don't want to mod the engine - Just would like one to keep going on and on with little problems

Thanks for the quick reply
(Is the A6 really a tank?)
Old 12-03-2007, 04:10 PM
AudiWorld Uber User

Default Well if you want as little problems as possible, stick to Japanese cars ;-)

Although I personally find that these cars are still worth driving even with the little problems that can occur sometimes.