Performance and Tuning Discussion forum for various performance tuning techniques and questions

30v build up questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2004, 07:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 30v build up questions

To start, i have searched the forum and have found much useful info, but still need some missing peices filled in for me.

I am getting ready to build a 2.8 30v engine from the ground up. I am new to Audi and am having a hard time finding things like connecting rods and pistons. I am going to be running some sort of stand alone engine management, not sure wich yet, new ignition system and a modified PES supercharger. I really need some stronger internals.

Any help would be appreciated, i would love to get this built and find a good combination to develop horse power for all those 30v out there.

Thanks in advance
Old 04-01-2004, 05:11 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default IMHO, you're not going to get...

...enough airflow out of a PES (Eaton) SC to require a lower compression ratio. They just simply don't flow that much air. You'd be further ahead just figuring out a way to install an IC to the SC.
Old 04-01-2004, 07:16 AM

Default Re: IMHO, you're not going to get...

I agree that i wont need a lower compresson, I am a little more interested in just having stronger internals, such as rods, valves, springs, and retainers.

As for the supercharger, i have been thinking about running a setup more like the G1, were i can have a IC setup, instead of the G2. Either way, i am shooting for 350 safe and reliable horsepower, and am worried about teh strength of the internals of the engine.

Thanks for the input
Old 04-01-2004, 07:34 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default You'll have trouble...

...getting that much HP out of that SC. It just doesn't flow that much air. With a high efficency IC you may be able to come close though.