Performance and Tuning Discussion forum for various performance tuning techniques and questions

Electronics experts - fuel injector duty cycle meter...

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2001, 02:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electronics experts - fuel injector duty cycle meter...

Anyone here familiar with designing electronic circuits?

I managed to build my own digital meter to measure injector on time (with 1/10 ms resolution). That was the easy part. Now I'm trying to come up with a circuit which will show me the injector duty cycle (also digitally). This is proving to be beyond my abilities as I'm only a hobbyist.

Here are the details for you electronic technicians:

To measure the on-time of the injectors, I simply counted pulses (from a 10KHz clock) while the injector is on. I can also do the same for the off-time. But then I would have to divide these two numbers to get duty cycle. This seems a bit more complicated than I could do with a bunch of IC's. I want to stay away from microcontrollers (dont know how to use them).

Any ideas?
Old 10-20-2001, 10:41 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Buy a VAG-COM and then you can data log it (and do other cool stuff)
Old 10-21-2001, 09:21 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default I believe there are some Fluke Digital multimeters that can do that

I think the one I have can do it, but I'm not sure. Never had to so I don't really know
Old 10-21-2001, 11:24 AM

Default I already own a diagnostic scanner & multimeter...

which can do this. I'm looking to build a gauge I can install in my car permanently.
Old 10-21-2001, 04:20 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Why would you...

...do this?

Does this parameter tell you how your car is performing? Does it correlate with another parameter? Is it something that you can control? Does it have to do with anything remotely performance oriented as a stand alone value?

Nope, Nope, Nope, Nope and Nope