Performance and Tuning Discussion forum for various performance tuning techniques and questions

just a couple of questions for the poeple who attend track events..

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2004, 06:31 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default just a couple of questions for the poeple who attend track events..

whats going on guys. i am in an 04 1.8tqm ultrasport. i have coilovers, rear sway, and apr stage 2. after pissing away a lot of cash on my car i have decided i really want to learn how the drive the car better. i am looking to start tracking the thing. is there any thing i need for the track ie. racing seat, better brakes, anything at all. also i am from ny. where is a good place to take the car and have someone teach me how to drive this thing. i am a pretty good driver as it is however i would to attend sever club events. can i run the car as is? should i get lighter wider wheels? thanks
Old 05-27-2004, 06:39 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Don't buy anything else. Just get the car out there and learn.

The only thing you might possibly consider after you get into the events is some better front brake pads.

Beyond that, for a beginner, the car will be far more capable than you for quite some time, so just get out and enjoy :-)

Since you're in NY, I'd suggest trying to do a club event at Lime Rock. It's a short, lower speed, technical course that is more about smoothness and momentum than outright speed. It's very easy to learn the track as well. For a new driver, going out to a place like the Glen will be a bit more daunting.
Old 05-27-2004, 07:14 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Re: Don't buy anything else. Just get the car out there and learn.