Q7 MKII Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 MKII built from 2016 -

Q7 Designed to Only Go Forward

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2019, 09:28 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 121 Likes on 86 Posts
Default Q7 Designed to Only Go Forward

We have had 11 different Audis ( original allroad, S4 Cab, three S5 Cabs, five A6s, and the 2018 Q7). Of them all the one I most DO NOT want to back-up in is the Q7; especially in the rain at night. The amount of light available from the reverse lights, even after installing higher output bulbs is TOTALLY insufficient. Add to that the fact that the lens of the back-up camera is not protected from the rain or road spray whatsoever and that the rear windows are heavily tinted by the factory means it is just not possible to comfortably back up this vehicle, even into a driveway I have been backing into for over 40 years. I don't even want to talk about backing up into an unfamiliar parking garage, shopping center parking lot, etc.

The only conclusion I can come to is that Audi engineers only drive their products forward, they may not even know that there is a reverse gear in the transmission.

If anyone has figured out a way to add additional reverse lights to this Q7, please let me know how you did it. Is there something I can mount to the trailer hitch receiver? If so how can I supply power to it? I need something better than having my wife walk beside the vehicle waving a 5,000 lumen spotlight!!
Old 05-12-2019, 10:14 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1,091 Likes on 770 Posts

Reverse lights aren’t there to illuminate the road to you. Best bet, install an auxiliary light in the back bumper, or under it, with its own dedicated switch.
Old 05-12-2019, 12:48 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts

Originally Posted by SCarGuy
Reverse lights aren’t there to illuminate the road to you. Best bet, install an auxiliary light in the back bumper, or under it, with its own dedicated switch.