RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

Break-in

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2006, 09:10 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Break-in

I spoke to a neighbour of mine who is a senior engineer at the BMW plant here in Spartanburg. I told him about the whole break in proceedure controversy and this is what he had to say (I am not an engineer, so trying to remember as best I can).

Break in is not just about the engine, but also the drivetrain - the gearing in the differentials need to be broken in. At the plant here they adhere strictly to the RPM limits for break in - if a car goes over those limits even once, they will not send that car out for sale - they basically put it aside and trash it.
When I said that there was a school of thought that you should change out the synthetic oil for regular oild during the break-in period, he said "why would you do that? There is a reson we recommend a specific oil for our cars, it is no different for Audis".
Anyway, I sent him all the links on the motorcycle guys technique - it will be interesting to see his critique.
Old 07-16-2006, 01:02 PM
Banned

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default It will be intersesting as to what he has to say.

But I would be more interested if he actually was had involvement with the engines .
Old 07-16-2006, 01:43 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Quick question

What happens if you downshift and momentarily the rpm shoots above the specified break-in limit?
Old 07-16-2006, 01:47 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default voided warranty

Quick delete your post, AoA is watching. Seriously, a momentary blip above the recommended rpm's is not going to cause any issues. If you are in the Dr. GP camp, it may even do some good.
Old 07-16-2006, 02:43 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Thanks for the quick response