RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

Clutch self-adjuster problem?

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2011, 10:04 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch self-adjuster problem?

Looking for some insights about a clutch issue.

2008 RS4 with 25,0000 miles. After fast shifts above 7000 rpm, I get a widely varied clutch engagement point for the next shift, with the clutch getting really heavy and engaging just off the floor. After a few shifts and slowing down, it returns to normal. I have been driving a stick for 25 years and I don't think it is me. The car has not done this until the last few weeks. The clutch doesn't slip and is perfectly smooth in normal driving. Only happens in fast driving or near redline shifts.

I know the S5's had some issue with the hydraulic lines to the clutch, causing similar symptoms. Anyone have this in their RS4? Is it a master cylinder issue? The fluid in the brakes/clutch was changed last year by the dealer, but this started well after that.

Thanks

jd
Old 05-31-2011, 11:22 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

I believe this has been reported several times before and there was even a recall regarding this issue for the early 2007 cars that were delivered in mid 2006. I believe it was a hose issue then, so it could be something similar.
Old 06-01-2011, 06:29 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

My RS4 is currently at the dealer for probably this problem, I have an ealry 2007 delivered in June 2006 with 28K and while driving noticed the clutch was sticking to the floor and would not return to its normal pedal position. I could still change gears and it would still engage even though there was not a lot of movement in the clutch.
If left alone it would return to its normal position but once I stepped on it to engage a gear it would not come back up or just slightly in order to engage the gear.
Will let you know what the issue is once I hear back from the dealer.

David