RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

Michelin Pilot Super Sport Review

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2011, 09:12 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Michelin Pilot Super Sport Review

This is my first time posting so before i get into the details of how amazing this tire is let me give a brief history of my RS4.

I bought it CPO with 42k and have driven it to 58k. This RS4 had the P Zero Rosso tires which i drove down to the wear indicators. I was told when I first got the car by some other RS4 enthusiasts that I met at an RS4 outing in NY last year, that these were probably the worst of the OEM tires. Not having anything to compare this to I thought hmm, this car handles pretty good, much better than my '03 S4. Maybe they are just snobbish towards tires. It’s not like the Pirelli’s were cheap (and as of right now they are probably one of the most expensive replacements on tire rack in the RS4 stock size). I mean the ride was a little bit rougher than i thought a $65,000 sport sedan should be. The car had a very "go-cart" like feeling to it and felt like it was on a rail with these tires when entering corners but was thrown all over the road by any pavement that wasn't completely flat. Sometimes to a dangerous level. It also had some bad vibrations from 60 on up which just kept getting worse as time went on. something no balancing could fix. I got the DRC's done under warranty and then checked again at the 55k service and was assured that they were in perfect condition, no leaks and fully charged.