RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

RS4 track impressions at VIR

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2007, 06:57 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RS4 track impressions at VIR

Just got back from ANCA at VIR where I was able to get some laps in the RS4 and thought I would compare it to the S4 for the record.

I am a novice driver (this was my 7th HPDE). The only modification was the gas pedal for easier rev matching. Stock pads and fluid, street tires.

The suspension is the biggest improvement. Turn in is quick, no understeer, and you can trail brake into oversteer like a hero (what a fricken' hoot!) DSC has received some bad press, but I am a believer. Especially under braking, where you get little nose dive, unlike the S4 which feels like it wants to auger the nose into the ground and the tail gets twitchy. And in hard corners, it is very flat, but it retains suspension travel. This was apparent if I nailed an inside curb in a hard turn - the car would just eat it up. Check out the last bit in the video below and see how the chassis stays planted even when nailing the curb at Oak Tree.

The power doesn't suck either. In a nut shell, this is a really fun track car, right out of the box.<ul><li><a href="http://jandjsalmon.com/video/AudiClubRS4.mpg">Video</a></li></ul>
Old 04-26-2007, 07:49 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Thanks! Nice video and encouraging comment.
Old 04-26-2007, 07:57 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Looks good, beautiful car. I was the Black Allroad running around in the beginner group.

Good information as I may pick one up in 2 years when my buddies comes off lease.

BTW what software did you use to edit your video clips? I have some DVD footage and need to edit it. Thanks~
Old 04-26-2007, 09:07 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default nice video, and I agree w/you about DRC.

the people giving DRC 'bad press' fall into one of the following categories:

1) they're trying to sell another suspension.