S4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi S4 produced from 2009-2016

Sports Differential vs. ADS

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2010, 01:45 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sports Differential vs. ADS

Hi All:

Wanted to get your opinions/experiences on SD only versus adding the full-blown ADS option. Yes, I have done a TON of research but I'm still confused on the various aspects of these two options.

I plan on ordering sometime in the next few months and will be coming out of a BMW 335i sedan. I've been driving BMW 3-series sedans for the past 5 years and absolutely love the heavy and communicative steering of the 3. Don't like some other things so it's time for a change. I have driven 2 different S4s but have not been able to test-drive one at all with either the SD or ADS. Can't find one anywhere within 100 miles to test-drive. I know I want the ability to "stiffen" up the steering so that it's closer to the feel of the 335i, but I'm not sure what other benefits the ADS will give me. I've heard of the SD being called ADS-lite.

Can you all give me some insight as to what additional benefits the ADS will offer versus just the SD? The SAs I've been talking to seem to know next to nothing. I'll be ordering the manual as opposed to the dual clutch so any additional benefits of transmission mapping and shift points will be meaningless to me. However, if ADS gives me more throttle response even in a manual, I'd be interested to know that. I'm not interested in starting another SD vs. non-SD thread, we know there's already been enough of those. What I'm looking for are owners of ADS-equipped cars who can help me, through their experiences, decide if the additional $2900 is money well-spent.

Thank you in advance for your insights!
Old 07-06-2010, 02:02 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Sport Diff: $1,100

Active rear end which torque steers the rear of the car to defeat understeer.