S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Few basic questions on the B5 S4, from a Volvo driver

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2003, 07:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Few basic questions on the B5 S4, from a Volvo driver

Hello, I have been driving a Volvo 850 T-5R for a little over two years now, but have recently been looking to get out of it. Its fast in a straight line, but no matter how much power it makes it still will always have a clunky slush box and the negative handling characteristics of a FWD car. I also feel like I should be getting paid by Volvo for defending the brand so much, but the company could care less about their few performance orientated customers. The two cars I am looking at are the B5 S4 and the (don't hate me) E36 M3. The S4 seems much more attractive to my personal tastes in cars. From what I can tell the interior is far beyond the M3 and just as nice as my T-5R, which had leather/suede/wood. I also like the tunablity option with the turbo engine on the S4 that simply can't be matched by the M3's na inline 6. So my real question is about the Tiptronic model. I have read the reviews about the 6-Speed plenty and that may very well be my first choice, but before I completely disregard the auto I would like to hear a few reports on it. How does it perfom: 0-60, 1/4 mile? How do you shift it manually? Is it strong enough to handle moderate power upgrades? And finally are there any model years or major issues to watch out for when buying one? Thanks for your time.
Old 10-29-2003, 07:35 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Here is a good noob thread I got when I asked similar questions...

<ul><li><a href="https://forums.audiworld.com/s4/msgs/1407640.phtml">B5 S4 Info</a></li></ul>
Old 10-29-2003, 07:44 AM

Default few points inside