S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Got the call last night, but...

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-1999, 09:16 AM
Jyoteen

Default Got the call last night, but...

I got the call I've been dreaming of for the past 5 months. The Imola Yellow/Onyx is in and there is no paint mismatch between the plastic and the metal.

However, the nav system I ordered is not on the car. What the f***? Anyways, I've also heard that the nav system has some glitches between the reading of the CD and the hardware (software bugs?).

The dealer told me that the A6 2.7T's that have been shipping with the nav system have had these bugs. The region would be west coast, CA.

Should I take the car? I just didn't want to have a stalk shooting out of the dash somewhere with the LCD screen of aftermarket systems.

Please advise quick!!
Old 11-23-1999, 09:21 AM
Jim De Arras

Sounds like dealer BS to me.
Old 11-23-1999, 09:40 AM
Johannes Erdfelt

Default I have the nav system and haven't seen those problems (more)

It works well most of the time. It has some quirks which I suspect other systems will have as well (calling Highway 1 "Cabrillo Highway").

But, it's always worked.

Now, would I say it's worth $1200, absolutely not. But, it integrates well with the car and does a good job of getting me from point A to point B.
Old 11-23-1999, 10:38 AM
mm

Yup, smells rather strongly of dealer BS. I have not heard of any software glitches.
Old 11-23-1999, 10:51 AM
RBOB

Thats NOT the car you ordered, is it???
Old 11-23-1999, 12:24 PM
Peter Ryckaert

Default You could easily find out if that is "your" car, more...

If you watched all the way through production the scroll from Audi would show your full options and then when produced VIN. You would have known this was screwed up along time before the car arrived. I would ask them to produce the scrolls with the VIN that showed NAV on it. I bet they are lying. -Pete
Old 11-23-1999, 12:29 PM