S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

grounding kits are they snake oil???

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2003, 04:38 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post
Default grounding kits are they snake oil???

maybe someone who is an expert can comment? dont multiple points create ground loops, adding noise to stereo? What of the differences between voltages on ground points. Again i am no expert.

thanks<ul><li><a href="http://g35driver.com/forums/showflat.php?Cat=&amp;Board=FAQ&amp;Number=82596&a mp;page=0&amp;view=collapsed&amp;sb=5&amp;part=">h ttp://g35driver.com/forums/showflat.php?Cat=&amp;Board=FAQ&amp;Number=82596&a mp;page=0&amp;view=collapsed
Old 10-02-2003, 04:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default All stereo components should use the same ground point

The "default" one is under the shifter trim area.

I see no reason to bother the engine ground, at least not in the S4, or as long as the engine/battery/alternator path is outside the audio components.
Old 10-02-2003, 04:53 AM
Rest In Peace

Default I'm not so sure that I'd agree with this.

Common grounding can lead to ground-loop noise. It works in some applications, but I don't think that it should be used as a blanket rule, especially when there are many valid grounding points on a particular car, and components are not necessarily always installed close to one another. The last thing I'd want to do is to run an 8-foot ground cable from my trunk back up to the shifter area, when I can find plenty of grounding points in the rear of the car. I'm a stickler for noise absence, and I've never heard anyone insist on a common ground for all components.
Old 10-02-2003, 05:04 AM

Default Yes, components in the back, ground them in the back.

Up front, ground them in the front!

And if you're big johnson, Liquor up front, Poker in the back!
Old 10-02-2003, 05:43 AM
Elder Member

Default Depends on the car, I've found.