A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coils and plugs very oily...HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2018, 04:51 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coils and plugs very oily...HELP!

First off, sorry. I'm a noob with Audi vehicles. Just bought a 07 S8 V10

Guy said the passenger side valve cover had just been replaced. looks like it as there is a clear difference in the look of the plastic from passenger side to driver side

Was fine when i drove it 2 hours home after I bought it. Next day I started getting lean codes as well as some misfires on 9, then 1 and 5.

Pulled a couple of the packs and plugs out last night and saw that they are coated in oil. The driver side plugs (the valve cover was NOT replaced on this side) looked fine.

When i pulled the plugs I noticed that I don't see a seal around the plugs. Is that normal? looked up what the seal looks like and it's clear that there are plug seals but I can't see them anywhere (on both passenger and driver side). Is that normal?

I'm going to be replacing all the packs and plugs this weekend. Do you guys have any other suggestions based on the issues i'm getting? Please and thank you.
Old 04-25-2018, 05:30 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Ore the valve cover is not the right one ore is damaged.
Ore valve cover gasket is leaking.
Old 04-25-2018, 05:50 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Actually, forgot to add that piece of info in...

Checked the torx screws on that side of the cover and they were noticeably loser than on the driver side. it was almost to the point that if i could get my finger in there i could have loosened the bolts.

so maybe that's the cause? or one of them
Old 04-25-2018, 06:06 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

one last thing i noticed while in there...