TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

Plan to buy a 2001 TT

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2008, 02:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Plan to buy a 2001 TT

Hi i am planning to buy a TT but i am really new to car do you guys think buying a 2001 180hp tt with 56000 miles is a good deal? Thanks
Old 03-30-2008, 03:12 AM
AudiWorld Awesome User

Default You'll need to change the timing belt by 60k-65k miles.

There are some issues: coil packs are oddly unreliable if you get unlucky, and clusters are a class-action problem right now.

That said, I have a 2000 180 QC (yours is front track only, no quattro). It now has 115K miles, and I wouldn't trade it for an S2000 or Porsche Boxster. I would consider a Cayman, so it's that kind of car to me.

The 180 has some developmental limitations imposed by the single FMIC. DOn't expect huge power gains unless you tranplant a 225 package into it.

I'd look for a later quattro 225 (I know of one in HotLanta that already has mods, and about the same miles). More potential, and definitely more fun!

Welcome to the asylum!
Old 03-30-2008, 06:11 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How >

Do you know the one he's planning to buy is FWD? I can't tell from his post.

And with all due respect, have you ever driven an equally modded FWD to compare, or are you just generalizing because that's the party line? I suggest you do so, if you haven't (and with all the porsche stuff on the board lately, let me use that as an analogy - from the 356's to most every version from there to here - they're all fun to drive, and challenging - and/or unforgiving - in their own way).

The quattro has a significant weight burden that made the introduction of the 225 more or less essential to the car's being able to compete in the marketplace - consensus was that the 180*Q* was underpowered, so to that end I agree with you.