A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Cat Question?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2012, 05:52 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cat Question?

99 A4 Avant 2.8 throwing codes, won't pass MA inspection. It's out of control loud, which has gotten progressively worse. I noticed today the flex part of the pipe is loose from the cat.

Not one mechanic will allow me to purchase cats online for them to put on. They all say that they run the risk of frying the ECM- what's the truth behind this? How do I (with assistance) put on new cats without frying the computer?

I'm not driving her right now, as it's illegal to drive in MA with loud cars and I'm concerned about trashing the car. I plan to quick fix by sealing the breaks/holes while I find an economically feasible solution. (I'm a college student but I do have some ability to fix my car as well as a few friends who are also into the eccentricities of German Engineering).

Any and all advice is appreciated.
Old 10-19-2012, 06:01 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Are you throwing codes for the cats? post your codes.

Why not just replace both flex joints in the exhaust?

By the way, if you are throwing codes for cats, it's your pre-cat, not the cat you see under the car (that's your secodary cat, which doesn't throw any codes because it is not monitored). A major job as it requires the removal of the downpipe, cutting and welding new cats.
Old 10-19-2012, 12:15 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Codes: Generics- P0300, P0301, P0306,Specific- P1300

It does stumble, or rather, it feels as though it revs up on it's own. I' ve been having fuel gauge issues as well, which were not resolved after I replaced the purge valve.

My concern is that sure, I can replace the joints, but in Massachusetts, they are real sticklers about the codes- they essentially force us to replace the cats and we can't use aftermarkets.