A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

clutch problem

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2003, 07:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default clutch problem

I have a problem. One day my car began shuddering and smelling bad (buring, pungent) whenever I had to slip the clutch at all. Starting up, even downshifting if the engine and tranny speed weren't precisely matched.

The car has not been abused.. it's been babied.. a 2001 A4 QMS.

The dealer says they can't tell me if this is under warrantee until they take the tranny out.. a $400 job. At that point, if they feel the clutch was abused in some way, it's not under warranty and I'm out $400 plus I have a car with the tranny in the trunk. Another $400 to put the tranny back in.. and over 2 grand to actually fix the problem.

I've been driving for over 40 years, and have *never* worn out a clutch. I'm very easy on clutches.. idle as I start out, wait until clutch is fully engaged, then accelerate. I don't rest my foot on the clutch. But the symptoms sure seem to point to a burned out clutch.

What to do?????

My first thought is take it to a good local place, pay them to fix it, and then trade it in with them (they have some mint BMWs on the lot that look really nice.) And I'm not sure I trust the Audi, or the dealership, anymore.

My friends say to fight this tooth and nail.. but others say you don't fight a big auto company unless you have a lot of time and deep pockets!

What would you folks do??

Thanks,
Bob
Old 01-17-2003, 07:46 AM
Elder Member

Default It is cheaper then the price they are stating to just replace the clutch

with an aftermarket clutch setup. Clutch setups sell for as low as $500 and it is about $300-$400 to have it installed.