A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

For those who absolutely want to run a BOV

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2001, 09:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default For those who absolutely want to run a BOV

Although I am brand new to the Audi A4, I do know a few things regarding forced induction using MAFs.

It would be possible to run the BOV for the ultra cool sound easily. You simply relocate the MAF to the pressure side of the turbo. You'd have to keep the MAF downstream of the BOV, but that would make it possible.

Is this even feasible given the configuration of the A4? I have no idea, as I've scarcely had enough time to even drive mine (long story about an accident 3 days after purchase)...but I digress. I do know that this configuration works on my 600 hp '96 Camaro (supercharged), which still uses the stock MAF.

Shoot away folks :-)

Andy
Old 09-24-2001, 10:08 AM
AudiWorld Super User

if you do figure this out, would you mind posting a how-to? thanks
Old 09-25-2001, 01:01 AM

Default I'll give it a look to see how involved it looks

I've already done it on my Camaro (although it's supercharged and not actually designed to be fed boost ;-) and it wasn't that difficult. Time consuming, yes.

Let's make some assumptions shall we?

1. The MAF must be near the air box (on the inlet, not pressure side).
2. The MAF can be moved to a convenient location on the pressure side.
3. The MAF can still meter air properly on the pressure (heated side).
4. The BOV can be located somewhere ahead of the IC.

If all these are true, I really cannot see any reason that use of the BOV wouldn't work.

I've been doing some reading on the pros and cons of BOV versus BPV and have come to the following conclusions:

1. Recirculating pressurized air to help the turbo spool is good.
2. Recirculating hot (even though it's intercooled, it's still hot) pressurized air is bad for making power.