A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Coolant Issue, any help appreciated!

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2019, 06:36 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant Issue, any help appreciated!

I am new to the world of DIY car repair, but I am trying to get into it and I'm really in need of some help diagnosing my issues. Recently, I have been having issues with my 2002 B6's cooling system. about 2 weeks ago I had a small leak turn into a much bigger leak (To the point where the car was out of coolant within minutes) and discovered a massive hole in my turbo coolant return hose. I have since replaced that hose, but after spending a day flushing the system and multiple test drives am still having issues with my cooling system and car is still overheating. I have noticed that the heat in the car barely works or just blows cold air, and just a few days ago I was driving home from work and discovered a major leak/possible new hole or problem in the system has developed when my car's coolant light came on and I noticed the car was starting to overheat again. I pulled over immediately and popped the hood to see my reservoir was empty and there was steam billowing out from right underneath it. I was able to get the car back home with the help of a couple bottles of coolant I had in my trunk for if/when this situation came around, and have tried flushing the system including the heater core by hooking up a garden hose to it. At first there was some gunk that came out of the heater core, but then the water came out at a pretty steady pace... so I thought it was all good, until I hooked the intake back up and left the output unhooked to check it and nothing came out after running the car for a considerable amount of time. Also the heat is still absent.