A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5

Radiator fans, NOT the average "they won't stop!" problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2011, 04:22 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radiator fans, NOT the average "they won't stop!" problem

Hi, I'm new to the forum. In a nutshell, I'm a turbine engine mechanic - mostly Rolls Royce R/3's. I've been having trouble with my A4 and after searching the forums, I can't find any previously solved problems that are exactly the same. I've got an '05.5 A4, FWD, CVT, 2.0TFSI.

I noticed the trouble yesterday when the a/c wasn't working at idle and the motor heated up rather quickly. I pulled over to check the radiator fans and they were acting strangely - they're spinning, but it seems like they start to spin for just a moment and then the motor cuts out and they stop. Both fans do this simultaneously with the a/c compressor on. I know if the fans are spinning that they're getting current, but just to be sure I checked the fuses in the fuse block and the larger fuses behind the lower steering wheel panel. I've got the Bentley manual with the wiring diagrams, and I'm hoping to chase down the problem, but I would appreciate any input from someone with experience repairing this system.

So I know the problem is that the fans aren't spinning as they should be, but is it the fans or the fan control module or something else? I'm about to pick up some electrical leads and test the fans myself, since I haven't got the fancy VAGCOM thing... please, by all means, tell me if I'm making a mistake assuming the input voltage on the fans is 12v. At any rate, any help is much appreciated, I'll do my best to contribute whatever I can to the forum. Thanks ahead.
Old 07-01-2011, 05:11 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Fans

by the description mentioned is the control unit.
Old 07-01-2011, 11:36 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer