A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Accessing fan control module

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2018, 11:19 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Accessing fan control module

i've been avoiding replacing my fan control module for a couple of years now. Seems my electric fans run fine at slow speed but do not increase when needed. I've seen the bumper side one go to a higher speed but only for a few seconds, then slows back down. I ignored this as we seldom have hot enough days for this to be an issue. But it got extra hot recently and the car began to overheat. So I am finally going to replace the fan control module.

Is there an easy way to do this? I've read that that if put into the service position it is easy, but can it be done without this being necessary? Anyone have experience doing this? I have never removed the bumper and put the front end into the service position. I'd like to avoid this step if I can.

Anyone have experience replacing the fan control control module that can offer me advice? It is a 2001A6 2.7 tiptronic.

thanks for any help offered.
Old 07-04-2018, 11:58 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 172 Likes on 162 Posts

Yes, BTDT.

You will have to remove the front bumper assembly completely and the headlight assembly to access the fan control module.

It's been awhile since I did one, but I seem to recall that there are nuts which attach the module to the bottom of the frame rail on the front left of the car. There are also several wire harnesses which snake through and around the fan assemblies. Take note of the routing to make sure that you don't end up with one of the fans slicing through the harness.
Old 07-04-2018, 12:13 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member