A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Some input on chips needed

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2001, 09:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some input on chips needed

Hi all!
I am looking into chipping my car (2001 a6 2.7T).
What are the options (manufacturers, configurations etc.)? I am a complete newbie there.
One thing that I definitely know is that I definitely don't want to void my warranty.

Comments, Suggestions, Questions are appreciated.
Old 03-22-2001, 09:57 AM

Default Re: Some input on chips needed

If you DEFINITELY do not want to void your warranty, then DEFINITELY do not get a chip. In fact, if you actually read your warranty, you will discover that Audi has given you the heads up that if you chip, you can lose your warranty coverage. Numerous (hundreds) of posts have addressed this issue, and some chippers have had certain dealers honor their warranties even with chips, but others have had problems. However, keep in mind that it is Audi who ultimately pays for warranty work, and even a chip friendly dealer may be placed in a position of having Audi refuse to cover the dealers warranty work. In which case the dealer can either essentially work for free on chipped cars, or go along with Audi's position that a chip = no warranty. You can guess who loses on that one.
Alternatively, you can take the approach of some of our ethically challenged friends out there, and just swap out the chipped ECU with the stock one prior to bringing it in to the shop. A rather dubious, but undoubtedly effective approach.
Old 03-22-2001, 10:00 AM

Swap! Swap Swap!!!
Old 03-22-2001, 10:32 AM

Default Any chip may void the warranty (long)

It depends on (1) your dealer, (2) AoA, (3) the nature of the damage, (4) other factors. It most likely will not depend on the chip.