A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OT: Am I the only one who never heard of this remarkable insurance company?

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2006, 11:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OT: Am I the only one who never heard of this remarkable insurance company?

Yes, it's another insurance post! (It's a gray day in Colorado...)

I was a little startled by State Farm's rates after I buried Esurance in a shallow grave, but I wanted a company with some integrity. Then I saw a magazine ad (I'm a very thorough researcher, eh?) for Amica, with the tag line, "It's not just how you're covered. It's how you're treated."

Then, in the text, "Amica has been ranked highest in customer satisfaction among national auto insurers by J.D. Power for an unprecedented seven years in a row."

"Arrgh, seduced by advertising! But worth a call," I thought. Six minutes later, I had identical coverage for $600 less per year from a company with consistently off-the-chart customer satisfaction ratings.

The kicker? As the call was nearing its end, I had a credit card in my hand. Brenda was starting to say goodbye to me, and I thought, "Hm, she seemed extremely professional up to this point, but she must be new." So I said, "Er, Brenda, don't you want a credit card number or something?"

"No," she said, "your coverage is bound, and we'll bill you in a month or so."

Who ever heard of an insurance company covering you for a month without getting paid first? Not I. They also have the insurance industry's leading customer retention rate, which says a lot.

Just thought I'd hip you guys to those guys in case, like me, you've never heard of them. And no, I don't own stock, or know anyone who does. <ul><li><a href="http://www.amica.com/aboutUs/aboutUs.html">Amica</a></li></ul>
Old 10-08-2006, 03:32 PM

Default Re: OT: Am I the only one who never heard of this remarkable insurance company?