Which Bentley? And advance request for help re: vacuum line.

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2017, 07:33 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which Bentley? And advance request for help re: vacuum line.

Good morning c4 people. I realize that I need the Bentley. I've read that there are two versions, maintenance and repair. And I've read compelling and contradictory cases for both. I'm not a mechanic and don't understand combustion engines much though I've been reading a ton and I'm working on understanding the concepts better because I haven't seen one Audi engine photo/video that looks like another. Maybe these cars have all been tinkered on. I'm the second owner of Wilard, a '97 a6 Quattro Avant with 173k. Previously I had a '98 Avant (rip 158k - my bad). I came for the ergonomics and stayed for the drive. I Anyway, I can get my head around the electrical pretty well but am on a steep learning curve with the rest. This car has been a beautiful beast and I have a stubborn commitment and love for it. (Seems we all may have this in common.) Rationalizing shop repair $ at this point seems a bit nutty and this car confounds and annoys all but the most patient, ethical, smart and late in their career mechanics and mine is almost done coming out of retirement for mine. He calls this car the Snow Dragon.. And the others are often playing a guessing game too and sometimes more problems are created than when I arrived. I paid big $ a couple of years ago for fumes in the cabin (simple exhaust leak I realize now). Three hundred miles later and in a different state I discover that he broke the male end of my overflow tank and jammed a piece of a Bic pen and tape to the bit of what remained of the connection. Pro tip: that doesn't work. lol More recently I was told I need a new steering rack (I don't) for $4,400. Not sure but friends tell me that women and car repairs are like shooting fish in a barrel. This has often been my experience- in my unpopul