Auto Detailing Discussion Discussion forum for the in's and out's of properly detailing your ride

finished up a new prius this afternoon.....

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2006, 01:12 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default finished up a new prius this afternoon.....

owner doesn't care about her car too much, but likes it clean. She just did an NC -> DC run and back, car was bugged up to hell in the front. So, totaly debugging, wash (incl. engine bay, pillars, door jambs, I wipe off everything), wax, interior wipe down/clean, vacuum, glass cleaned (a LOT of glass in that car!), and black trim/tires dressed. Right under 2 hours, a record for me. I quoted her 95, she was so impressed, wrote me for 130.

Question is, I'm new to the charging $ game in detailing. I have a list of services, but usually quote people based on teh time I think it would take to tackle the job, given what they want. I usually take my time, but I can do just as good work more quickly. Is that an outrageous price, too little, just right?

FWIW, on my gallery link, other clients/charges:
FULL PC polish/wax/carpet clean + all the rest on a GS400 and charged $185.

That Z71 was filthy, FULL deal again, took 3 days, charged $350.

So, what say you, fee-chargers out there?<ul><li><a href="http://www.pbase.com/mfd164/ultimate_details">a few of my clients</a></li></ul>
Old 10-24-2006, 02:44 PM
RKA
AudiWorld Uber User

Default I'd say you're pricing it about right.

My guess is...that woman wouldn't have seen the difference if you did a full PC on the outside. As far as she was concerned, the car is clean or it's not, and you returned it clean. I wouldn't raise the price for the job you did on her car...seems about right to me. I think her expectation that it should cost more might have been unrealistic.

The other jobs are about right as well based on the descriptions.
Old 10-24-2006, 05:30 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Default k thanks.