FYI: CPD now using LASER on LSD

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2004, 10:46 PM
Elder Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FYI: CPD now using LASER on LSD

Can't believe I didn't get pulled tonight, I'm so conditioned to ignore the V1 laser warning in the city I blew off 2 15 second bursts before I had a visual and tapped the brakes. Got lucky. ****er was literally leaning out the window pointing it back into traffic from the shoulder near North Ave. southbound. The pigmobile was facing south. Not very subtle but he had me.
Old 10-01-2004, 05:36 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default CPD has had Laser for several years...

I've been commuting LSD for 20 years now, and have seen laser on LSD for quite some time (at least 3 years). The laser units used to be traded between different districts. It must be downtown's turn. Laser is tough in heavy traffic, since it's a point and shoot, then chase affair. More often than not, I see them north of Montrose where the pickins are sweeter.

FYI, those darn audi rings and that chrome grill are what give laser it's target acquisition.

Scott J
Old 10-01-2004, 05:51 AM

Default Re: CPD has had Laser for several years...

actually... i found this out. i used to be a cop, in hawaii - which is an all laser state. this is one of the reasons why their front licence plate law is extremely heavily enforced.

when i got back here to chicago last year i found out that its the goal to have illinois become an all laser state as well... im not sure how true this is, but it sounds about right. a lot of the suburban PD's around me (NW burbs) have at least 1 LTI 2020 unit for training, the FTOs (field training officers) are rotating it around in patrol shifts to get everyone certified on them.