Performance and Tuning Discussion forum for various performance tuning techniques and questions

Operation during low engine temperatures

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2002, 06:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Operation during low engine temperatures

I have a 1997 A6 Quatro Wagon. The coolant temperature indicator is always right on bold line marking the lower acceptable temperature. This is regardless of temperature outside.

I have mentioned the issue to the Audi dealer, however they think it is OK because the computer does not send an alarm. However, being a Mechanical Engineer I understand that operating the engine at low temperatures you loose efficiency which results in loss power, torque, gas mileage etc.

(Facts/thoughts.: The thermostat is just replaced and appearantly working, the indicator may be innacurate).

Does anyone have any thoughts on this issue, or is it typical that the automobile works in the lower indicacted temperature zone.
Old 03-25-2002, 06:27 AM
4kq

As an engineer then you should know the guage ain't calibrated or even a precision instrument.
Old 03-25-2002, 07:03 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Maybe they used the wrong thermostat.

to get a better feel for the coolant temperature, use the climate control panel to access the coolant temperature. If it's clearly off spec, take it where you had your thermostat replaced and have them fix their mistake.<ul><li><a href="https://www.audiworld.com/tech/int5.shtml">Accessing Coolant data via climate control</a></li></ul>
Old 03-25-2002, 08:42 AM

Default Ditto. If you are concerned, dealer can read out engine temps ...

with VAG scan tool, I believe.

Interestingly, on my Vette, both digital and analog gage readings are available. They agree almost perfectly. On the Impala, I noticed the same thing you have. Dealer checked with scan tool and engine temp was 195F where it belonged, but analog gage showed low in the operating range.
Old 03-25-2002, 09:42 AM
AudiWorld Super User