Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

2009 Q5 parking system faulty

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2016, 07:05 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 Q5 parking system faulty

Hi Guys,

Sorry if this is not the right area for this question (newbie here) but I was wondering if one of you guys could help me with the issue I'm currently facing:

I have a problem with the entire parking sensor system. We were knocked into from the rear a few moths ago and a few weeks later the parking sensor system started going into an error mode (long biiip with flashing yellow led under the button) whenever you press the park assist button or when you go into reverse.
Symptoms are easy: nothing works. No sensor display and no reverse camera.

I acoustically checked the sensors and one (the rear left one) was indeed not working. So I ordered a new one and replaced it but that didn't repair the problem. Just to make sure, I positionned the new one in place of an existing working one and the new sensor is not faulty. Interestingly, the old 'faulty' sensor positioned in another spot 'ticks' like all the others. So it's really a problem with that specific sensor position.

So I'm thinking one of 3 things:
1. The wiring to that sensor is faulty
I had a look but there are no pinches or other visible damage on the wiring.
2. The parking sensor calculator (8K0-919-475-J) is faulty
Would surprise me that the calculator could have a single sensor fault capacity. Surely if it was faulty, the entire rear sensor array would cut out (which is not the case). But I may be wrong...
3. Some sort of reset is required
I tried a 3 button MMI reset but that doesn't seem to reset the parking sensor system. Maybe there is some internal reset that can be done via the VAG-COM?

That's where I'm at. If any of you had a better idea of how to fix the problem, that would be great.

Thanks again,

Nick