Q7 MKII Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 MKII built from 2016 -

Trailer Harness and Ball Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2016, 03:34 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trailer Harness and Ball Question

We bought a boat. I know I need a trailer harness. In addition, I need a 2" ball.

Boat plus trailer is approx. 5500 lbs. Tongue weight will be approx 550. Have adaptive air suspension.

Can I buy just any ball? Any suggestions for a good one?

Should I just buy this which looks like it was for the last generation?

Amazon.com: Genuine Audi 4L0092115U Trailer Hitch Ball Mount: Automotive Amazon.com: Genuine Audi 4L0092115U Trailer Hitch Ball Mount: Automotive

I am a newbie at this and appreciate any help. Ideally, I want the most flexible set up even if it costs a little more.
Old 04-14-2016, 08:59 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Congrats on the new boat!

From reading the forums, your new Q7 will not come with a Round RV-7 connector. The wiring harness has been installed, but you will need to install the connector. You can either purchase the
 Audi OEM part Audi OEM part
or the
Pollak part Pollak part
. Both are the same part, but some may be more comfortable buying from their dealer.

Regarding the ball mount, the most important thing to do is buy a mount that has the drop or rise that will allow the trailer sit as close as possible to level. This will allow for your trailer brakes to work most effectively.

To do this, park your trailer on level ground and put a level on the trailer frame. Once the frame is level to the ground, measure the distance from the ground to the trailer tongue. Then, find a ball mount that puts the ball at approximately the same level.

You mentioned flexibility. If that is the case, they make
adjustable ball mounts adjustable ball mounts
. This allows for you to tow multiple trailers at different heights and ball sizes.
Old 04-14-2016, 09:39 AM
AudiWorld Member

Originally Posted by sodar