S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Engine Mounts

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 05:53 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Mounts

All, I read the 'tech article' on replacing the motor mounts for my S4, but I don't see how it's possible. I realize it's not 'easy', but there is no way I could get my 1/4" ratchet in there with a socket on it. I'm not a mechanical wizard, but I can hold my own. I also had a buddy of mine who is very mechanically inclined take a look at it and he had no good advice either. Does anyone know if the tech article was written for a manual VS a tip? Mine is a tip. Maybe there is a difference there?

Both of my engine mounts were sheared off in a frontal collision so I'm working on both sides. The passenger side actually seems a little more friendly. The driver side is ridiculous so I'm going after it first.

My current plan is to make a custom wrench, drop the side of the engine slightly and cross my fingers. Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Best regards,

Bob
Old 04-09-2013, 07:04 PM
AudiWorld Member

All,

I took all of the suggestions that I could find online and still no luck. I bought the 'stubby' flex ratchet wrench, I bought the standard 13mm (12 and 6 point wrenches...I broke mine during this project so I needed these any way) and I bought the 13mm 'offset' wrench. There is no way in hell to get these bolts loose. It seems as though the tech article on this topic must be dealing with a manual transmission. Otherwise the article makes no sense. I can get my finger on both of the upper engine mount bolts, but there is no way to get a wrench in there.

I would really appreciate any input. It seems that the old crowd that used to be here has moved on and maybe no one has dealt with this?

Bob
Old 04-16-2013, 06:22 PM
AudiWorld Super User