S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

How NOT to diagnose city light wiring (LONG)- ->

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2005, 12:40 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How NOT to diagnose city light wiring (LONG)- ->

OK...

I installed a new set of e-codes. In a constant quest to be different (yes, I actually <b>like</b> staggered wheel offsets), I decided to trash the BTDT city light wiring, and try MarkP's alternative.

I get the drivers side in and working with a little tweaking to the wiring..

Passenger side..not so lucky. Fortunately, I flooded Marks Inbox with pleas for help, and he came through with three new schematics of the wiring. So I print them out and proceed to study the wiring. But I am no electrical engineer... Wait! I know an electrical engineer!!! I call BoneStockS4 and tell him my problem, in one breathe. Now he has a Masters in this ****...once he gets going, I know I am going to learn something new.. I convince him to skip the wings and beer I owe him for a previous problem he helped with and that he should come to my house and stand in my driveway over a hot engine bay and try to fix this.

Before the conversation ends, we agree on the following:

1) It should be easy...
2) There are two wires that we both think should be swapped, an if we did that..it would be easy,
3) We're probably need beer,
4) since this was going to be easy, we'd work on his new boost gauge, so he should stop and get some vacuum hose on the way over.

Now things start going bad.

I call him just before I start pulling the left housing out. He has 45 minutes to make a 10 minute trip, which leaves him 35 minutes to locate and buy the vacuum hose. He blows that and gets to the auto parts store as they lock the registers..