TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

Newbie: General Modification Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2002, 02:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie: General Modification Questions

I am a newbie and not a TT owner. I have a friend who is a TT owner. I "speak car" better and would like to help him on the road to performance upgrade.

Since I'm on other boards, I know newbie questions can be tough when there are good places to go and learn the basics. I'll be glad to go and learn the basics, if you can point me in the right direction.

My buddy has the 180hp version of the TT Coupe.

Questions:
- I am eager to hear where the weak points are in the TT, where the car needs the most work to tweak additional power (i.e. induction, ECU, headers, mid/b pipe, cat, pre-cats, etc.).
- How about same question with suspension/traction. Calipers, pads, rotors, brake lines, clutch, flywheel, pulley, engine mounts, etc.
- Springs/struts? How are the stock struts...do you guys always replace them when you lower your TT's?
- A list of modifications commonly made to TT's separated by "intake/engine/exhaust" and "suspension" would be greatly appreciated.
- Where do you guys buy your aftermarket stuff online? What sites are good for Audi's and what manufacturers are the big Audi go-to's.

I'll stop now...I'm trying to get up-to-speed on speaking "TT" on this board so I can help my buddy out and I need the basics before I can do anything for him.

The only thing I've helped him with so far is getting rid of those crappy Potenza tires it came with...crap.

Michael
Old 02-25-2002, 03:17 PM
gtt
AudiWorld Super User

Default poor guy...I guess he'll need the 300+hp kit, or the drop-in 500hp model.....

You could "shop" at HPA motorsports, MTM, ABT, APR, PES, for starters and remember that 180 probably handles better than your Nissan stock.
Old 02-25-2002, 03:26 PM