TT (Mk2) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk2 Audi TT, TT-S and TT-RS Coupe & Roadster produced from 2007-2014

Noob turbo question

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2009, 04:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob turbo question

As the TT is going to be my first turbo charged engine .... how does the turbo "sound" and "feel" on the TT 2.0 Quattro Coupe? Does it kick in when you're giving it some gas or does is it always kicking in when you're just putting around town ... sorry if this sounds noobish, the world of turbo charged engines about to open up to me this week
Old 01-19-2009, 06:45 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default Re: Noob turbo question

I'm not an expert but it would seem to me as long as there is enough exhaust gas going into the turbocharger to drive the compressor, it should be active- providing you better fuel economy at slow speeds and the boost at higher RPMs.
Old 01-19-2009, 07:38 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

The 2009 TT 2.0 Quattro Coupe was also my first turbo engine. Going to a dealer for a test drive would be the best way to answer your questions, but I find the engine and exhaust (stock) to be very (almost too) quiet - the road/tire noise from the front wheel wells is actually louder (too loud IMHO - I'm going to look into some Dynamat). The engine response has just a bit of lag but then pulls surprisingly hard (for 200 hp) from surprisingly low revs. It's not a low-torque "screamer" like a Honda 2000 for example.
Old 01-19-2009, 07:52 PM