Wheels & Tires Discussion Discussion forum for all questions and topics regarding wheels and tires

Do I need wheel locks?

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2017, 08:42 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I need wheel locks?

I live in central California in a low crime area, have a 2018 SQ5 on order. How do folks feel about the need for wheel locks? I don't hear about wheel theft anymore (from all types of vehicles, not just Audis) It seems that wheel theft used to be a bigger problem when I was a new driver back in the late 70's.
Old 07-04-2017, 08:57 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

I would be safe than sorry. I just recently had my A7 messed with. Someone pulled my stem core, letting out all my air and recapped the stem. Had to get someone to go to AutoZone to get me a new core. Less than a $10 fix, but they were hoping I drove on a flat tire.

I have wheel locks and ball seat locking nuts
Old 07-04-2017, 10:06 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

+1. Having the extra protection of wheel locks is a no-brainer IMO. You don't know where and when thieves will strike and those Audi rims can be sold for good $$ in the used car parts market. When these guys steal your wheels, they may cause more damage to your car depending on how they leave it. They may do the following:
1. Jack-up the car using the wrong type of jack,
2. Damage the underside of your car by using rocks to prop up corners of your car where they've already taken off the wheels. I have seen photos that show a car resting on the ground with the brake rotors supporting the weight of the car instead of the wheels.