A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Basic 2.8 Engine Diagram

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2013, 06:42 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Basic 2.8 Engine Diagram

Hi everyone. I have been looking EVERYWHERE for a basic diagram of the 2.8 engine, to no avail. There was one posting on here years ago but the image is gone.

Could someone help me out and identify the hoses/parts I've highlighted in yellow and magenta? I am an engine newbie. Please feel free to chastise me/point me in the right direction if there is a diagram labeling each of the basic visible hoses and parts already posted somewhere.

This is a 99 2.8l 30v quattro.

I can't fork out $200 for Bentley guide
Attached Images  

Last edited by Zedo; 06-25-2013 at 06:46 PM.
Old 06-25-2013, 07:34 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

I am deducing that the yellow is the crank case breather hose. Anyone able to confirm that?
Old 06-25-2013, 07:40 PM
Tech Guru

Received 107 Likes on 98 Posts

Yes. Yellow is breather, magenta is power steering.
Old 06-25-2013, 08:08 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by 4Driver4
Yes. Yellow is breather, magenta is power steering.
Thanks! Anyone have any suggestions on crankcase breather replacement? I see this one http://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-C5_A6-....8L/ES2215417/ - on sale right now. Blauparts has a more complete kit with evap valve for like $170... ugh.
Old 06-26-2013, 03:26 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 62 Likes on 61 Posts

I applaud you for coming here to get help, however you have to understand owning tbese cars requires investment of dollars. If your qoing to say you cant afford this or that or even a manual, then i would reconsider keeping this car.

I know stuff sounds expensive but thats what it takes to keep these machines running.
Old 06-26-2013, 06:20 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by Airbag