A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

01590 Ignitor for Battery disonnect @006 C6 A6

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2012, 01:06 PM
Audiholic

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default 01590 Ignitor for Battery disonnect @006 C6 A6

Does anyone out there have experience with code 01590 and the Battery disconnect ignitor, component code N253, For exceeding upper limit. VAG reset only results in an immediate MIL for the Air Bag. The N253 is located in a small component located in the spare tire Wheel Well, right next to the battery. The battery cables are also routed thru it. I've been driving only Audi's since 1975, and thought I'd seen most of the issues that come up but this one has me at a loss. What is this component; what does it do (besides enable an air bag MIL), and can the ignitor, located in the item next to the battery be individually replaced?
Old 02-21-2012, 01:21 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by ecgarzone
Does anyone out there have experience with code 01590 and the Battery disconnect ignitor, component code N253, For exceeding upper limit. VAG reset only results in an immediate MIL for the Air Bag. The N253 is located in a small component located in the spare tire Wheel Well, right next to the battery. The battery cables are also routed thru it. I've been driving only Audi's since 1975, and thought I'd seen most of the issues that come up but this one has me at a loss. What is this component; what does it do (besides enable an air bag MIL), and can the ignitor, located in the item next to the battery be individually replaced?
AFAIK, the ignitor disconnects the battery cable in an accident to prevent electrical shorts. It's monitored by the airbag module, and since it has a DTC, something it sees is not right with the N253 ignitor or wiring going to it.
Old 03-05-2012, 11:49 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member