Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Newbie Here Looking For help

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2013, 03:19 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Here Looking For help

I am a current owner of a X5 50i xdrive looking to get into a Audi SQ5 maybe even a diesel. I tried your usual search and come up with some stuff but not what I was looking for. I went on the Audi website and it wasn't much help either, that why I came here.

Looking to get out of my 2011 X5 and was looking at both the Q7 and the SQ5. To be honest, I really don't know too much about Audi's especially when you get into the engines and mechanical things. My wife is into the looks part, me into sport and performance of the vehicle. I will assume that the SQ5 is the performance model of the SUV/crossover line. Is the performance that much greater in the SQ5 than the normal Q5? Would you be sacrificing much with a diesel? Finally is the performance the same in the Q7 as in the Q5 with the same engine. I really like the looks of the SQ5, but the seats in anthracite looks like that they would not be as comfortable as leather.

Bottom line is that I like the X5 50i and the performance with the xdrive a lot, so I really don't want to give up much. Looking at some of the pics of the Q5's here and they really look sharp.

Thanks for all that responded...!
Old 10-21-2013, 03:38 PM
Club AutoUnion

Received 49 Likes on 39 Posts

The SQ5 is substantially quicker than any Q7 model. The only independent road test numbers that we've seen for the SQ5 is Motor Trend and they show 4.8 secs 0 - 60 and 104 ft for 60 - 0 braking.

I believe those numbers would beat your current X5 5.0. The Q5 is a little smaller than the X5; I believe most people cross shop the Q5 and the X3 or the Q7 and the X5.

I have the Black Nappa seats so I cannot comment on the Alcantra but there are several posts on here about that.

Good luck,