WOW, this is cool, but I don't deserve it........

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2006, 06:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WOW, this is cool, but I don't deserve it........

6:30 this morning I got back from a run to Billings, Mt. When I walked in the office to turnin my paperwork and to see what is up for tonight/tomorrow, I get handed a large manilla envelope. Inside, I found a handwritten thank you letter, a Certificate of Appreciation, and $100.00 AmEx gift card, and a courtesy letter.

Here's the story........
As all of you know, I'm a regional truck driver based here in Denver, for the last year, I have been making a run to Montana about every couple of weeks. Well, 2 yrs ago, while returning from one a trip, I came upon a single car accident. Mind you, this was 3:30 am, on I-25, it was very cold and snowing. A young couple (late 20's) was on their way from Seattle to Chicago for Christmas with family.
They were trying to drive straight through and the guy fell asleep at the wheel. The car went off the highway, he woke up over corrected and ended up in a snow bank about 30ft out from the SB shoulder on it's side. The car had rolled twice, but was otherwise intact.
I stopped, trudged through shin to knee deep snow to get to them. The guy was pretty badly shaken up, had some nasty bruises, a bloody nose and split lip. The woman, although she was asleep, was still tossed about. She ended up with a concussion, a broken arm, broken nose, and some various other bumps and bruises, all this I found out week later.