A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Suspension question...

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2006, 03:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension question...

Hi all, I am a newbie here and don't know much about mechanics. I have a 03 B6 1.8T CVT with stock suspension; however, I found the car sway too much, even on staight road. I am looking for a way to limit the sway but not in the race or really sporty fashion. Can I change the spring to lower spring and use the stock damper? With this setting, will there be any negative effect on the parts, such as will it wear out the damper?
Thank you so much
Old 02-19-2006, 03:33 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Springs, shocks and sway bar

Just getting lower springs will cause your stock damper (shocks) to wear out faster just like you said. See if you can find someone on here who's selling their 1.8T sport springs and shocks. If you are trying to save money, you might want to consider just getting a set of H-sport sway bars. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I think that'll make the biggest difference in reducing the swaying (lateral body movement) while maintaining your current ride comfort.
Old 02-19-2006, 05:05 AM

Default Re: Springs, shocks and sway bar

Wear out faster?(Is that mean the damper will wear out anyway even with the stock spring?) How fast and why will it wear out?
How can I know and what will happen if the damper wear out?
Thank you
Old 02-19-2006, 06:24 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default most tuners will recomend upgrading the struts and springs at the same time

there's lots of good options, h-sport, koni, eibach, H&R, tien, staisis, etc. use the search function here and audizine. you'll find TONS of info...
Old 02-19-2006, 07:02 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default Springs for the most part only controls how much the car leans in corners and ride height...