A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2007 A8L - Water Ingress - MMI Component Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2014, 12:40 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 2007 A8L - Water Ingress - MMI Component Replacement

Hi - Newbie here in Boston, MA. Thanks in advance for any insights - and apologize if questions are stupid. After water ingress in my trunk from rear window seal leak and sunroof clogged drains, and MMI degrading not working gradually for the last 2 years, brought my car to the dealer to find out what needed to be replaced. They indicated the following which I have purchased used off ebay for $1,400 vs. the $10K the dealer quoted
4E0-035-542-X Radio Control Unit
4E0-910-732-TX Interface
4E0-910-888-MX Nav Module
4E0-910-593-N Sirius Module

Questions -
1)Which components would need to be programmed/reprogrammed due to Component Protection. It seems from searching the forums/threads it may only be the 732-TX Interface.
2)I removed and replaced all of these except the 732-TX. Where is this located? I believe from searching its in behind AMI/CD Changer in glovebox. Is there a detail on how access/remove and replace. Do I need to worry about anything IE Airbags???
3) Once all is replaced, what will happen when I power up the car. What should I see on MMI display (or will it be dead until I get CP removed from modules it needs to be removed from) or will i hurt the new components until I have the component protection reprogrammed by the dealer (from what I've read this is the only way). Or will the main reboot screen continue to be the same as it had (dead unless reboot/clicking from rear speak) because of the break in the MOST fiber optic ring.
4)Am I missing anything else or have to do anything else for my MMI to finally again work?

Thank you again for any help!
Old 12-29-2014, 02:32 PM
AudiWorld Super User