NASA People: HPDE question

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2008, 11:26 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NASA People: HPDE question

I have limited track day experience, and I'm unsure which HPDE class I fall under.

My reason for asking is, the class I want to pick is full. Normally, I sign myself for something that I believe is likely going to be under my skill level, just to be on the safe side. Having done 4 or BMW events, and also as many, if not more track days, I am very comfortable around PMP. Thus, I think that I can be okay in HPDE 3, but don't want to risk it.

I'm comfortable at a level slightly higher than BMWCCA's B Class (like a B+, A-:P), but not enough to be on the track at the same time as say, a Mike Pedersen. I'm just not comfortable, nor experienced in free range passing, without a point by.

However, I see that someone who I have been on the track with is at HPDE 4, when I think we're really comparable in skill set.

My inclination is to start at HPDE 2, and if comfortable, move to HPDE 3. Unfortunately HPDE 2 is full for the track event I want to go to.

Would it be wise to just sit this one out?

Any idea? Advice?
Old 04-11-2008, 11:58 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 8 Likes on 4 Posts

just do ett, any track day is better than none
Old 04-11-2008, 12:15 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Default Here are my thoughts...

First, you can email me offline if you would like. I am the NASA RM Group 2 Leader.

Second, with 4 BMW events and an additional 4+ track days, I would say that you are a solid HPDE2 candidate and you should start there. However, you may have all the skils we (and more accurately I) will be looking for and you may get signed off for HPDE3 quickly.